MyPOS Connect

RATING:

4.5

(41)

About MyPOS Connect

Designed for independent and enterprise retailers, MyPOS Connect is a SOC2 compliant, cloud-hybrid POS solution that allows businesses to create a POS experience for any retail business function and optimize customer engagement, sales processing, purchasing, and inventory management operations for multiple stores. MyPOS Connect' POS app is able to operate with and without an internet connection, so businesses can run operations without any downtime. Features include a customizable POS UI, customer engagement tools, omnichannel sales support, purchasing tools, multi-store inventory management, and in-depth reporting and data analytics. MyPOS Connect allows businesses to customize every aspect of the POS interface with custom menu boards, modifier and display buttons, di...

Awards and Recognition

FrontRunner 2022
Software Advice's FrontRunners report ranks top products based on user reviews, which helps businesses find the right software.

MyPOS Connect Pricing

Priced per workstation/device per month, optional plug-ins available.

Starting price: 

$99.95 per month

Free trial: 

Not Available

Free version: 

Not Available

MyPOS Connect POS screen with small window for items sold
Slide 1 of 6

MyPOS Connect Reviews

Overall Rating

4.5

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

Most Helpful Reviews for MyPOS Connect

1 - 5 of 41 Reviews

Philippe-Antoine

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

MyPOS Feedback

We are extremly happy with the system and the integrators (TriCity). The system is very stable, user friendly and we are able to customize pretty much everything that we want. The possibilities are endless. They are at the forefront of the technology.

PROS

There is a long list of features that we love but one of the deciding factor was the cloud base system while having an offline redundancy at the store level. If we lose internet we are able to still conduct our activities.

CONS

The interface isn't the most pretty out there.

Reason for choosing MyPOS Connect

MyPOS was much quicker than the other system. With the volume of transactions that we do everyday the speed of the system was the deciding factor.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

The technology of RMS was old and they were doing a big upgrade of their system. The new generation didn't seem to be user friendly. We were anxious that we were not going to be able to run the backend without specialized ressources.

Vendor Response

Hi Phil, Thanks for your review and your kind words. It's very much appreciated. I agree with you; the UI is a bit simplistic. MyPOS Connect was designed this way so that users could switch between a PC monitor with a keyboard and a hand-held tablet with out a keyboard - and they would see the exact same screen design. This eliminates training issues when using two different POS form factors. We are always looking to improve the software; so if you have any ideas for how we could improve the UI, without losing this ability to easily switch between form factors, I would love to hear them - or you can always send your design requests to wishlist@tricityretail.com.

Replied July 2020

John

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

MyPOS - An excellent choice for POS system

MyPOS is so easy to setup and deploy. The people at TriCity are very knowledgeable, professional, and pleasant to work with. They always do their best when presented new business requirements.

PROS

MyPOS is so easy to setup and deploy. The people at TriCity are very knowledgeable, professional, and pleasant to work with. They always do their best when presented new business requirements.

CONS

Coming from MS RMS system, one thing I'm missing is the ability to secure any field/data on the screen and only select user(s) can see them. e.g. Landed cost. But this really depend on your business requirements/needs.

Reason for choosing MyPOS Connect

We work with TriCity for a very long time and their support is second to none. Even we decided to not use their payment gateway partner, they still supported us all the way.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

We went from MS Dynamics RMS (forces me to choose MS Dynamics 365 on the previous question) to MyPOS. Lack of support, functionality after EOL announcement.

Vendor Response

Hi John, thank-you for your review and your kind words. We all appreciate your loyalty and enjoy working with you and your team. I agree that MyPOS Connect's user security functionality is not as granular as RMS was. However, for the specific example of product cost (landed cost, supplier cost, etc.), there is a security setting that enables you to hide all costs for specific users. Please contact our Support team and they can show you how to set this up.

Replied March 2024

Trevor

Sporting Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Shooter's Choice MyPOS review

Right out of the gate there were many Con's with features we were told were available but really were not or were added as we went. a credit to the support team for helping work out many of these over time, however the original pitch to our team on why to make the switch was it had many features we asked about up front, but in the end they did not. 12 months ago i would have given this program 1 star as we were not happy and very frustrated, but with the continued support and features added weekly over the past 12 months i feel it's rating has grown, with the ability to get better if features keep getting added. We honestly felt the sales team oversold the product and it was not as advertised at the start.

PROS

Easy of install Customer support local and easily available Past experience with the customer support team with RMS Customizable features and reports when requested (some times at an extra cost) search function Spreadsheet conversions Cloud based - offline sales

CONS

missing basic features with-in the product itself, causing you to have to leave the product screen and go run individual reports to find the answer to you questions. Many of these are very basic stuff we've seen in much cheaper programs, things like product on order, last sale date, last receive date or even a basic product report with-in the product you're looking at without having to go back and into 3 other screens to find your answer. Our web-team struggled hard at the start of MyPOS. They were told the API was ready and could do a lot and it didn't, to put it bluntly it was a horrible. Our team actually helped them implement API 2.0. We've run into many errors that were very difficult to understand along the way, many the DEV team would have to dig into it and get back to us days later, was great support, but very hard to deal with as we almost felt like we were the test run of MyPOS on many occasions. If the DEV team doesn't think your request is important enough then your request is ignored unless you pay a fee to implement the item.

Reason for choosing MyPOS Connect

2 main reason. Cost and support. We felt we knew the support team from our pervious system and trusted them to give us the same level of support so we stuck with what they knew.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Are main reason for making the switch was we were told Microsoft was ending all support for RMS in the coming years as well as the API for online was very poor and we as a company wanted to take the next step in the online world so we made the switch to MyPOS

Vendor Response

Hey Trevor, thanks for your input, it's greatly appreciated, although I have to say that this is the first I have heard of your struggles with MyPOS Connect. I want to apologize for any misleading claims during the sales cycle; it's not how we roll. But since I jumped in at the end of your evaluation cycle, I take full responsibility for that. I agree, we did have some challenges launching our API. It needed a lot of tweaking after the initial release. Thanks to you folks and other early adopters of the API, I believe we have ironed out all the wrinkles. And you're right about having to exit from one screen to open another screen. This is a limitation of the UI that we are hoping to solve at some point in the future; even though it has not been a concern for most of our customers. I hope that, in future, you feel comfortable enough to contact me directly if there are any other concerns.

Replied May 2021

Alex

Tobacco, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

My POS Connect

PROS

I love the feature of the import and export when doing counts, POs, and inventory corrections. The amount of field to get nuanced information when searching is perfect.

CONS

The a couple of problems absolutely have arose over the last 6 months but we have worked past them with the help of the support team. Being that we are in tobacco its kind of a drag that Shopify is the standard of website that it would like us to use.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Being that we have worked with Tri-City for a number of years we decided to keep with them as they are simply the best. RMS is already a dead software and we are trying to be ahead of the curve.

Vendor Response

Hi Alex, Thanks so much for the awesome review! Regarding your Shopify comment, you're right, it is the only "off-the-shelf" eCommerce solution for MyPOS Connect. However, we do have a Web API that will allow you to choose any eCommerce platform you like and then integrate it with our database. Please feel free to reach out to me directly or contact our support team if you would like more information.

Replied August 2020

CHANNING

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

MyPOS Connect review

Excellent support. With so many different on line and delivery companies, not looking for perfect integration but need smoother methods for inputting, tracking orders from external systems...

PROS

License fee grows with you based on number and actual use- helpful for seasonal and small business. Card machine and on line business integrations. Service! Excellent support.

CONS

There are no hints or self help instructions. While this would be difficult to keep current and is part of their business plan to encourage purchase of support, its not overwhelmingly negative.

Reason for choosing MyPOS Connect

Attentive, local support.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Initially, pricing, looking for local service.

Vendor Response

Hi Channing, thank you so much for your review and your comments on our service and support. I agree that our user documentation could be improved; we are constantly trying to update the manual but it is a never-ending challenge. Regarding self-help instructions, we recently created a series of screencasts that you can access from the Customer Resource page on our website. They weren't available yet when you had your training, so you might not even know they exist. if you have any other specific ideas about how we can improve MyPOS Connect, please don't hesitate to send them to wishlist@tricityretail.com or email me directly.

Replied July 2020